Welcome to
German Solidarity Myanmar

We are GSM - an association whose members mainly live in Germany and support a free, democratic and inclusive Myanmar.

PLEASE NOTE: Our english website is currently ongoing - not all content is translated, yet!

Latest Status Updates

Since the military coup, we have been collecting, compiling and publishing current and important information and events from Myanmar on a weekly basis.

These Status Updates are only available in German!

Latest updates and activities of our association

Events

Veranstaltungshinweis:

Am 30. Juni wird in Berlin der 79ste Geburtstag von Aung San Suu Kyi gefeiert. Es wird burmesisches Essen, Musik und Tanz geben, und es werden vier tolle Filme gezeigt.

Ort:
Königin-Luise-Straße 56, 14195 Berlin

30.06.2024
12:00 - 17:00 Uhr

On 01.02.2021, the military in Myanmar staged a coup. It occupied the parliament and prevented the newly elected government from holding its inaugural session. High-ranking government politicians and other leaders and activists were arrested and their communication with the outside world was cut off. The Myanmar public reacted immediately. With the help of social media, much of civil society turned out to protest on the streets of the cities. Meanwhile, female employees of the Ministry of Health formed the General Strike Movement of Civil Disobedience (CDM), which brought the country to a standstill.
A wide range of creative, colourful forms of protest came together in the protests of the first weeks after the coup. But the military selectively escalated and is extremely brutal against the demonstrators.

On 9 February, Mya Thwate Thwate Khaing was shot dead during protests in the capital Naypyidaw and became the first fatality of the coup. Since then, the military and police have increasingly used violence against protesters and the population: people are randomly executed with targeted shots to the head, armed "security forces" storm citizens' homes at night and spread terror. Thousands have been arrested: while some are under house arrest, it is unclear where many of those arrested are being held and whether they are still alive. On 27 March alone, the official military holiday, over 100 people were cruelly and arbitrarily murdered. The situation is also escalating in the border areas. Armed conflicts with armed groups are flaring up again. The country is on the brink of civil war.

Our Highlights

About us

We, the association "German Solidarity with Myanmar Democracy e. V.", are a group of people who live predominantly in Germany and who support a free, democratic and inclusive Myanmar. We support the demands of civil society actors for a free, democratic and self-determined Myanmar. In doing so, we recognise that the domestic political situation in Myanmar is complex and multi-layered. The country's future can only be sustainably shaped from within. Our hopes lie in the realisation of human rights towards peace, federalism and democracy.

Willkommen bei
German Solidarity Myanmar

Wir sind GSM - ein Verein, dessen Mitglieder überwiegend in Deutschland leben und ein freies, demokratisches und inklusives Myanmar unterstützen.

Status Quo Updates

Wir sammeln, erstellen und veröffentlichen hier seit dem Militärputsch wöchentlich aktuelle und wichtige Infos und Ereignisse aus Myanmar.

Aktuelle Informationen und Aktionen unseres Vereins

Veranstaltungen

Aktuell sind keine Veranstaltungen geplant.

Campus Westend,
Frankfurt am Main

Am 01.02.2021 hat das Militär in Myanmar geputscht. Es hat das Parlament besetzt und die konstituierende Sitzung der neu gewählten Regierung verhindert. Hochrangige Regierungspolitiker*innen und weitere führende Persönlichkeiten und Aktivist*innen wurden verhaftet und ihre Kommunikation zur Außenwelt abgeschnitten. Die myanmarische Öffentlichkeit reagierte sofort. Mithilfe der sozialen Medien fand sich ein Großteil der Zivilgesellschaft zu Protesten auf den Straßen der Städte ein. Mitarbeiterinnen des Gesundheitsministeriums gründeten derweil die Generalstreik-Bewegung des zivilen Ungehorsams (CDM), die das Land zum Stillstand gebracht hat.

In den Protesten der ersten Wochen nach dem Coup fand sich ein breites Spektrum kreativer, bunter Protestformen zusammen. Doch das Militär eskalierte gezielt und geht äußerst brutal gegen die Demonstrierenden vor.

Am 9.Februar wurde Mya Thwate Thwate Khaing bei Protesten in der Hauptstadt Naypyidaw erschossen und wurde zum ersten Todesopfer des Putsches. Seitdem wenden Militär und Polizei zunehmend Gewalt gegen Protestierende und Bevölkerung an: mit gezielten Kopfschüssen werden wahllos Menschen hingerichtet, Nachts stürmen bewaffnete “Sicherheitskräfte” Wohnungen von Bürger*innen und verbreiten Terror. Tausende wurden festgenommen: während einige unter Hausarrest gestellt sind, ist bei vielen Festgenommenen unklar, wo sie festgehalten werden und ob sie noch am Leben sind. Allein am 27.03., dem offiziellen Feiertag des Militärs, wurden über 100 Menschen grausam und willkürlich ermordet. Auch in den Grenzgebieten eskaliert die Situation zunehmen. Bewaffnete Konflikte mit bewaffneten Gruppen flammen wieder auf. Das Land steht kurz vor einem Bürgerkrieg.

Unsere Highlights

Über uns

Wir, der Verein “German Solidarity with Myanmar Democracy e. V.”, sind eine Gruppe von Menschen, die überwiegend in Deutschland leben und ein freies, demokratisches und inklusives Myanmar unterstützen.

Wir untersützen die Forderungen der zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuere für ein freies, demokratisches und selbstbestimmtes Myanmar. Dabei erkennen wir an, dass die innenpolitische Verhältnisse in Myanmar kompplex und vielschichtig sind. Die Zukunft des Landes kann nur von innen heraus nachhaltig gestaltet werden. Unsere Hoffnungen liegen in der Verwirklichung der Menschenrechte hin zu Frieden, Föderalismus und Demokratie.